Breaking down your wedding guests’ dietary requirements

Receptions // by The QB Team

Don’t know your vegans from your vegetarians? Your paleos from your pescatarians? To help you avoid an awkward situation, we’ve broken down the most common dietary requirements – phew!

Related article: 57 questions to ask your caterers 


From the wedding of Sarah + Billy


There are some subcategories to vegetarianism, but we’ll save you a headache and keep it basic. Basically, plants are your friends – simple!

Can eat: Fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, soy foods, beans, peas, lentils, dairy products, olive oil and eggs.
Can’t eat: Meat, fish, shellfish and any alcohol involving animal products in the processing (depending on how strictly vegetarian your guests are). It’s also common for vegetarians to avoid gelatin – maybe skip serving panacotta for dessert!


From the wedding of Emily + Matt


Veganism is one step up from vegetarianism, involving only plant-based foods and excluding anything that’s animal-derived. Don’t want to exclude your vegan guests from enjoying your wedding cake? There are plenty of talented cake artists that offer scrumptious vegan-friendly bakes – like the ones served at Emily and Matt’s wedding (above)!

Can eat: Fruit, vegetables, soy-based protein, grains, egg-free pasta and olive oil.
Can’t eat: Meat, dairy products, eggs, honey, fish, shellfish, any alcohol involving animal products in the processing.


From Unsplash


Based on the types of foods believed to be eaten by early humans, the Paleo diet relies on unprocessed items.

Can eat: Grass-fed meats, fish/seafood, fruits, vegetables, eggs, nuts and ‘healthy oils’ (such as olive, walnut, flaxseed, macadamia, avocado and coconut).
Can’t eat: Cereal grains, legumes, dairy, refined sugar, potatoes, processed foods, overly salty foods, refined vegetable oils and alcohol.


From the wedding of Barbara + Ana


Similar to vegetarianism, this diet allows for fish and seafood but excludes any land-based meats. If there are any pescatarians on your guest-list, perhaps offer a salmon or seared tuna dish – delicious, on-trend and totally mindful. Winner winner… fish dinner!

Can eat: Seafood, fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, soy foods, beans, peas, lentils, dairy products and olive oil. Eggs are a bit of a grey area, so consult with any pescatarian guests.
Can’t eat: Land-based meats, such as beef, lamb and chicken.


From the wedding of Sam + Dylan


The key to this diet is basically in the name. Found in certain grains, gluten is the thing to keep your eye out for when serving Coeliac or gluten-free guests.

Can eat: Fruit, vegetables, fresh meats, eggs, nuts, legumes, milk, fats, oils, gluten-free alcohol and gluten-free grains (such as rice and corn).
Can’t eat: Wheat, rye, barley and oats.


From the wedding of Sam + Dylan


Duh. Consider serving your dairy-free guests a special dairy-free cupcake minus the buttercream icing – and think twice about offering Milky Ways at the lolly buffet.

Can eat: Anything non-dairy. Surprise, surprise.
Can’t eat: Dairy. Obviously

Planning your special day? Check out our ‘Tips + Advice’ stories here

Feature image from the wedding of Lisa + Sean