Wedding Reception

Breaking down your wedding guests’ dietary requirements

  | 

Don’t know you’re vegans from your vegetarians? Here is our quick breakdown of some of the more common diets and the requirements relating to each. Your guests will thank you for understanding the differences.

Related Article: Red, white and bubbly: your go-to wedding wine and champagne guide

VEGETARIAN

There are some subcategories to vegetarianism, but we’ll save you a headache and keep it simple. Basically, plants are your friends when it comes to this diet.

CAN EAT: Fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, soy foods, beans, peas, lentils, dairy products, olive oil and eggs.

CAN’T EAT: Meat, fish, shellfish and any alcohol involving animal products in the processing. It’s also common for vegetarians to avoid gelatin.

 

VEGAN

Veganism is one step up from vegetarianism, involving only plant-based foods and excluding anything that’s animal derived.

CAN EAT: Fruit, vegetables, soy-based protein, grains, egg-free pasta and olive oil.

CAN’T EAT: Meat, dairy products, eggs, honey, fish, shellfish, any alcohol involving animal products in the processing.

 

PALEO

Based on the types of foods believed to be eaten by early humans, the Paleo diet relies on unprocessed items.

CAN EAT: Grass-fed meats, fish/seafood, fruits, vegetables, eggs, nuts and ‘healthy oils’, such as olive, walnut, flaxseed, macadamia, avocado and coconut.

CAN’T EAT: Cereal grains, legumes, dairy, refined sugar, potatoes, processed foods, overly salty foods, refined vegetable oils and alcohol.

 

PESCATARIAN

Similar to vegetarianism, this diet allows for fish and seafood but excludes any land-based meats. If there are any pescatarians on your guest list perhaps offer a salmon or seared tuna dish – delicious, on-trend and totally mindful. Winner winner… fish dinner.

CAN EAT: Seafood, fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, soy foods, beans, peas, lentils, dairy products and olive oil. Eggs are a bit of a grey area, so consult with any pescatarian guests.

CAN’T EAT: Land-based meats such as beef, lamb and chicken.

 

GLUTEN-FREE

The key to this diet is basically in the name. Found in certain grains, gluten is the thing to keep your eye out for when serving Coeliac or gluten-free guests.

CAN EAT: Fruit, vegetables, fresh meats, eggs, nuts, legumes, milk, fats, oils, gluten free alcohol and gluten-free grains, such as rice and corn.

CAN’T EAT: Wheat, rye, barley and oats.

 

DAIRY-FREE

Duh. Consider serving your dairy-free guests a special dairy-free cupcake minus the buttercream icing – and think twice about offering Milky Ways at the lolly buffet.

CAN EAT: Anything non-dairy. Surprise, surprise.

CAN’T EAT: Dairy. Obviously

Take a look at our online wedding directory to find your dream wedding caterer.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login